Ξ welcome to cryptostorm's member forums ~ you don't have to be a cryptostorm member to post here Ξ
∞ take a peek at our legendary cryptostorm_is twitter feed if you're into that kind of thing ∞
Ξ we're rolling out voodoo network security across cryptostorm - big things happening, indeed! Ξ
Ξ any OpenVPN configs found on the forum are likely outdated. For the latest, visit GitHub Ξ

widget v3

Looking for a bit more than customer support, and want to learn more about what cryptostorm is , what we've been announcing lately, and how the cryptostorm network makes the magic? This is a great place to start, so make yourself at home!
User avatar

parityboy
ForumHelper
Posts: 905
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 3:47 am

Re: widget v3

Postby parityboy » Sun Sep 11, 2016 7:06 am

superstyle wrote:just upgraded to the lastest one :). did some speedtest getting almost full speed


Can you post your findings in the Cryptotorm Speedtest Thread? Many thanks. :)


themanwithavan
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:54 am

Re: widget v3

Postby themanwithavan » Sun Sep 11, 2016 3:46 pm

Big thanks for this version. I've had nothing but problems with the other version. Dropouts under load, inability to connect to server, retries not working because a pop-up says unable to find host. Was about to dump cryptostorm but thought to at least see if there is a new version of the client. Glad I did.

Downloading like mad and so far no issue. And like other posters I'm pretty sure it's faster too.


themanwithavan
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2013 11:54 am

Re: widget v3

Postby themanwithavan » Sun Sep 11, 2016 7:16 pm

Well I take it back. Seems to last a bit longer but now instead of a dialogue box about unable to connect the client now hangs on attempting to reset to crypto dns. The log says after 20 or 40 minutes that it's resetting due to time out. But that isn't the case at all. This is so frustrating. Cryptostorm is so unstable.


superstyle
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2016 2:40 am

Re: widget v3

Postby superstyle » Mon Sep 12, 2016 1:06 am

hey df everything seems to be working fine for me, left the vpn on over night no drops. i would like to request feature. please add internet kill switch if its possible.

Thank you for your amazing work :)

User avatar

parityboy
ForumHelper
Posts: 905
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 3:47 am

Re: widget v3

Postby parityboy » Tue Sep 13, 2016 5:15 am

themanwithavan wrote:Well I take it back. Seems to last a bit longer but now instead of a dialogue box about unable to connect the client now hangs on attempting to reset to crypto dns. The log says after 20 or 40 minutes that it's resetting due to time out. But that isn't the case at all. This is so frustrating. Cryptostorm is so unstable.


Can you give us a bit more detail as to your setup? OS etc? I don't run Windows, but I may be able to help. :)


Khariz
Posts: 113
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 7:48 am

Re: widget v3

Postby Khariz » Tue Sep 13, 2016 10:50 am

I'm not experiencing any stability issues at all. I've been connected to u.s. South for 72 hours straight at this point.

User avatar

marzametal
Posts: 487
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 11:39 am

Re: widget v3

Postby marzametal » Sat Sep 17, 2016 3:18 pm

Are these the latest hashes for cryptostorm_setup.exe v3.0.0.56 ?

md5 - 2570E4A6A1A020A5C9114B9E55E197D7
sha1 - BB230429D53363A81B010AF2EE58EE154CEE5FF0
sha256 - 0F8594A3714C9639668ED62995F56C8C15C540167CFE396335621BAC4D257981

User avatar

Topic Author
df
Site Admin
Posts: 230
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 5:00 am

Re: widget v3

Postby df » Sat Sep 17, 2016 3:44 pm

@marzametal
yep,

[[email protected] html]# md5sum cryptostorm_setup.exe
2570e4a6a1a020a5c9114b9e55e197d7 cryptostorm_setup.exe
[[email protected] html]# sha1sum cryptostorm_setup.exe
bb230429d53363a81b010af2ee58ee154cee5ff0 cryptostorm_setup.exe
[[email protected] html]# sha256sum cryptostorm_setup.exe
0f8594a3714c9639668ed62995f56c8c15c540167cfe396335621bac4d257981 cryptostorm_setup.exe

User avatar

marzametal
Posts: 487
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 11:39 am

Re: widget v3

Postby marzametal » Sun Sep 18, 2016 8:45 am

@df

much appreciated my good man... keep up the great work! It's been an honour thus far to be a part of the CS community.

User avatar

Topic Author
df
Site Admin
Posts: 230
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 5:00 am

Re: widget v3

Postby df » Mon Oct 03, 2016 10:46 pm

toupie wrote:not very technology literate and new to the world of vpn.

using win xp sp3
currently using sexynarwhal2_22 - no major issues apart from occasional crashing while running with standard node (but rare).

installed beta version of 24 may 2016
(after having uninstalled sexynarwhal2_22 and deleting cs and tap-windows folders in program files and rebooting)
on installing getting error installing tap-windows, but installation complete.
on running the widget v3, getting it's getting longer than 60 seconds, trying again, at the 3rd automatic try getting this message:

Can't load fwpuclnt.dll
Options error: Failed to enable --block-outside-dns. Maybe WFP is not supported on your system?

after installing tap-windows-9.21.2.exe manually, no longer getting the above error message on re-installing widget v3, but still not being able to connect.

installed beta version of 25 may 2016
(after having uninstalled widget v3 of 24 may 2016 and deleting cs and tap-windows folders in program files and rebooting)

no error message during installation

still cannot connect and getting it's getting longer than 60 seconds, trying again, and no error message after the 5th try (but still no connection).

going back to sexynarwhal2_22 for the time being, until a new widget v3 version is available.

thank you.


Just noticed your post. You do realize that you're using an OS that was discontinued in 2014?
I strongly suggest you upgrade to something that still receives security updates - http://home.bt.com/tech-gadgets/computi ... 3972474326
If your PC is so old that it can't run anything after XP, then either buy a new one or replace your XP install with Linux.

User avatar

JTD121
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2015 7:28 pm

Re: widget v3

Postby JTD121 » Sat Nov 05, 2016 3:25 am

Just downloaded and installed without verifying the hashes for 3.0.0.56. Any update on that? Are they automatically posted somewheres?
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
You derive personal satisfaction from the continued existence of the near perfect day-night cycles of the hyper cube.....

► Show Spoiler


Khariz
Posts: 113
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 7:48 am

Re: widget v3

Postby Khariz » Sat Nov 05, 2016 3:28 am

Hashes for 3.0.0.56 are

[[email protected] html]# md5sum cryptostorm_setup.exe
2570e4a6a1a020a5c9114b9e55e197d7 cryptostorm_setup.exe
[[email protected] html]# sha1sum cryptostorm_setup.exe
bb230429d53363a81b010af2ee58ee154cee5ff0 cryptostorm_setup.exe
[[email protected] html]# sha256sum cryptostorm_setup.exe
0f8594a3714c9639668ed62995f56c8c15c540167cfe396335621bac4d257981 cryptostorm_setup.exe

User avatar

JTD121
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2015 7:28 pm

Re: widget v3

Postby JTD121 » Sat Nov 05, 2016 3:38 am

Wow, quick response! Verified! :D
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
You derive personal satisfaction from the continued existence of the near perfect day-night cycles of the hyper cube.....

► Show Spoiler


Return to “cryptostorm in-depth: announcements, how it works, what it is”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests

Login