Ξ welcome to cryptostorm's member forums ~ you don't have to be a cryptostorm member to post here Ξ
Ξ any OpenVPN configs found on the forum are likely outdated. For the latest, visit here or GitHub Ξ
Ξ If you're looking for tutorials/guides, check out the new https://cryptostorm.is/#section6 Ξ

Cryptostorm client can't connect to the darknet

Looking for assistance with a cryptostorm connection issue? Post here & we'll help out. Also: if you're not sure where to post, do so here & we'll move things around as needed. Also: for quickest support, email our oddly calm & easygoing support reps at support@cryptostorm.is :)

Topic Author
dki

Cryptostorm client can't connect to the darknet

Postby dki » Thu Apr 19, 2018 11:04 pm

Cryptostorm widget 3.15 fails to log into the darknet. It keeps trying to reconnect. I've tried several exit nodes. The widget is running on default settings (Disable IPV6, WebRCT leak prevention, Enable DNSCrypt)
I disabled my antivirus and firewall but it made no difference. Is there a way to connect without the widget?

User avatar

parityboy
Site Admin
Posts: 1228
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 3:47 am

Re: Cryptostorm client can't connect to the darknet

Postby parityboy » Fri Apr 20, 2018 5:04 am

@OP

The only other way to connect that I know of would be to use the official OpenVPN client, which wasn't exactly user friendly the last time I looked at it.

Have a look at this thread for resolution of issues concerning the CS widget. :)


Topic Author
dki

Re: Cryptostorm client can't connect to the darknet

Postby dki » Mon Apr 30, 2018 6:07 pm

That thread wasn't all that helpful for me. I've tried both 3.15 and 3.12 versions of the widget and it made no difference. How to do I connect via the OpenVPN client? Do I copy one of the cs config files to the C:\Program Files\OpenVPN\config dir? What about the balancer files....where do I put those? Do I leave the login field blank and only put my token as a password? Is there a guide somewhere on this forum on how to do it? I would appreciate any help you can provide, thanks

User avatar

parityboy
Site Admin
Posts: 1228
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 3:47 am

Re: Cryptostorm client can't connect to the darknet

Postby parityboy » Wed May 02, 2018 12:00 am

@OP

Yes, you feed it one of the Cryptostorm configuration files (the Windows versions). Your hashed token is the username, the password can be anything but it must be something - even a single character.

If you get stuck, report back and I'll go through the steps myself (I'm not really a Windows user). If you're successful, report back anyway. :)


Topic Author
dki

Re: Cryptostorm client can't connect to the darknet

Postby dki » Wed May 02, 2018 12:05 pm

Yep, that's how you do it. Many thanks, sir! I was able to connect just fine with the OpenVPN client.

User avatar

parityboy
Site Admin
Posts: 1228
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 3:47 am

Re: Cryptostorm client can't connect to the darknet

Postby parityboy » Thu May 03, 2018 2:29 am

@OP

Remember, the OpenVPN client doesn't do any of the extras that the Cryptostorm Widget does, such as disabling WebRTC, using dnscrypt-proxy etc. It might be a good idea to go through the options offered by the widget and see if you can activate them while using the OpenVPN client (perhaps by an external script).

Oh and check for DNS leaks too. :)


Topic Author
Guest

Re: Cryptostorm client can't connect to the darknet

Postby Guest » Thu May 03, 2018 12:21 pm

True but unfortunately I can't make the widget connect no matter how many options I enable/disable. Maybe a future update will solve the issue but for now the only way to connect is through the OpenVPN client.
Good news is there are no DNS leaks according to dnsleaktest.com

User avatar

df
Site Admin
Posts: 358
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 5:00 am

Re: Cryptostorm client can't connect to the darknet

Postby df » Wed Jul 04, 2018 1:52 pm

@Guest
There's a new version 3.15.0.220 of the widget that might include a fix for whatever issue you were having.
Also, we now have a Windows tutorial that includes instructions for connecting with OpenVPN GUI - https://cryptostorm.is/windows#ovpngui (cancel the widget download that starts automatically when that page loads)
as well as tutorials for most of the other supported systems - https://cryptostorm.is/#section6


Topic Author
guest5

Re: Cryptostorm client can't connect to the darknet

Postby guest5 » Thu Jul 05, 2018 8:19 am

DF you need some rest after all the replies you have made!

They are quite informative. :thumbup:

Your latest widget version is 3.16.0.220 (not 3.15.0.220), just for the record. I know it is just a typing error!

Thank you very much for all your work! :D

User avatar

df
Site Admin
Posts: 358
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 5:00 am

Re: Cryptostorm client can't connect to the darknet

Postby df » Sat Jul 07, 2018 12:30 am

Oops, right you are. But actually, now there's a v3.17.0.220. The latest version fixed a minor bug in 3.16.0.220 where the node selection wasn't properly saved, so on every start it kept defaulting to "Global random".
Also added more informative text for when someone connects with the killswitch enabled but they're not using our DNS/DNSCrypt (which ofc fails, cause the killswitch is preventing that DNS leak).
And upgraded dnscrypt-proxy to the latest v2.0.15, cause widget <= v3.16 was using an older 2.0.4 or .7 or something.


Return to “member support & tech assistance”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 5 guests

Login