Ξ welcome to cryptostorm's member forums ~ you don't have to be a cryptostorm member to post here Ξ
∞ take a peek at our legendary cryptostorm_is twitter feed if you're into that kind of thing ∞
Ξ we're rolling out voodoo network security across cryptostorm - big things happening, indeed! Ξ
Ξ any OpenVPN configs found on the forum are likely outdated. For the latest, visit GitHub Ξ
Ξ We've updated our CA certificate. All members need to be using the latest ones by Dec 22. See this page for more infoΞ

[Discussion thread] HOW TO: connect when using Windows

Guides, HOWTOs etc on how to setup Cryptostorm on PCs, smartphones, tablets and routers.
User avatar

Topic Author
Fermi
Site Admin
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 11:42 am

HOW TO: connect when using Windows

Postby Fermi » Wed Nov 12, 2014 9:56 pm

HOW TO: connect when using Windows

There are two different ways to do so:
- using the widget (aka Cryptostorm client) (The widget is the quickest, least fiddly path onto the secure network.)
Connect using the widget.pdf
(275.63 KiB) Downloaded 916 times


-using OpenVPN
(work in progress)

User avatar

Topic Author
Fermi
Site Admin
Posts: 225
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 11:42 am

[Discussion thread] HOW TO: connect when using Windows

Postby Fermi » Wed Nov 12, 2014 10:01 pm

Placeholder for all discussions regarding the HOW TO: connect when using Windows sticky ... . ;)


x2f

Re: [Discussion thread] HOW TO: connect when using Windows

Postby x2f » Tue Feb 03, 2015 8:29 pm

Hi,

I installed Cryptostorm client v2.01 on win 7, and it works properly.

but, now, I installed Cryptostorm client v2.01 on win 8.1, and it doesn't connect...
What's wrong ?
error.png

User avatar

cryptostorm_support
ForumHelper
Posts: 296
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 4:31 am
Contact:

Re: [Discussion thread] HOW TO: connect when using Windows

Postby cryptostorm_support » Wed Feb 04, 2015 6:10 pm

It's difficult to tell for sure with that small log segment, but I'm guessing that you've run into the "Zombie TAP driver" issue we sometimes see upon first install in an OS. The easiest fix is usually to run the dedicated TAP driver installer from here but we've just released v2.2 of our widget so I would definitely give that a try first :)
cryptostorm_support shared support team forum account
PLEASE DON'T SEND PRIVATE MESSAGES with support questions!
--> feel free to use any of our other contact channels, or post in the support forum
cryptostorm: structurally anonymous, token-based, unlimited ☂ bandwidth, opensource, darknet data security for everyone!
keybase.io validatorsonename.io validatorsPGP key @ MITnetwork statuscryptostorm github
support team bitmessage address: BM-2cTMH8K5JnjbfSALjZtSkRWCLfc3Tr8GBV
support team email: support@cryptostorm.is
live chat support: #cryptostorm

User avatar

marzametal
Posts: 505
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 11:39 am

Re: [Discussion thread] HOW TO: connect when using Windows

Postby marzametal » Mon Feb 09, 2015 7:23 am

Do you have any adblocking software? I had to remove some stuff to get CS to work.

User avatar

Pattern_Juggled
Posts: 1492
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 6:34 am
Contact:

Re: [Discussion thread] HOW TO: connect when using Windows

Postby Pattern_Juggled » Sat Feb 14, 2015 1:28 pm

Btw, if anyone has a version of the 1.4 conf's that's tested-good for Windows connections, I'll put it up in the reference thread - we've had some requests, & it's not one I did in the first batch of 1.4 conf's. That's an oversight I'd like to rectify.

Cheers,

~ pj
...just a scatterbrained network topologist & crypto systems architect……… ҉҉҉

    ✨ ✨ ✨
pj@ðëëþ.bekeybase pgpmit pgpðørkßöt-on-consolegit 'er github
bitmessage:
BM-NBBqTcefbdgjCyQpAKFGKw9udBZzDr7f

User avatar

rwilcher
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 7:46 pm
Contact:

Re: [Discussion thread] HOW TO: connect when using Windows

Postby rwilcher » Tue May 05, 2015 10:43 pm

Anyone seen antivirus programs clobbering the TAP-Driver under windows ?

User avatar

rwilcher
Posts: 46
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 7:46 pm
Contact:

Re: [Discussion thread] HOW TO: connect when using Windows

Postby rwilcher » Thu May 07, 2015 9:17 pm

Just thought I would mention this. Earlier I asked about TAP-Driver getting clobbered by antivirus programs. I found this was happening to me.
I was having intermittent startup and authentication issues with the latest Windows widget causing me to reinstall it. After excluding the TAP-driver
directory and driver from virus scanning , the widget has performed flawlessly. Just in case anyone else sees this, worked for me.


Return to “guides, HOWTOs & tutorials”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

Login