Ξ welcome to cryptostorm's member forums ~ you don't have to be a cryptostorm member to post here Ξ
∞ take a peek at our legendary cryptostorm_is twitter feed if you're into that kind of thing ∞
Ξ we're rolling out voodoo network security across cryptostorm - big things happening, indeed! Ξ
Ξ any OpenVPN configs found on the forum are likely outdated. For the latest, visit GitHub Ξ

DNS Settings

A core mission of cryptostorm is ensuring consistent, reliable network security with minimal fuss & drama. From DNS-based services like our DeepDNS in-browser native .onion/.i2p site access, through grounbreaking research on IP6 leakblocking, & to firewall-based structures to enable "fail-closed" security, this is where we discuss & develop cryptostorm-style leakblock tech.
User avatar

Topic Author
kelltech
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 11:49 pm

DNS Settings

Postby kelltech » Wed Jul 09, 2014 4:18 pm

I'm sorry but I don't fully understand everything I'd like to know about DNS settings and DNS leaks, etc.

When I go to ipleak.net, I usually see my IP address as whatever exitnode I'm using but my detected dns addresses are all over the place. Sometimes it will just say Berlin no matter which exitnode I use, sometimes it says Canada, sometimes Berlin and Canada together and sometimes it shows 8 to 10 detected dns addresses in California! I can say I haven't seen my actual location, but is this a problem?

User avatar

parityboy
Site Admin
Posts: 1096
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 3:47 am

Re: DNS Settings

Postby parityboy » Wed Jul 09, 2014 4:32 pm

@kelltech

As long as the DNS address that show up are not your ISP's or Google's, you should be OK. :) Below are the addresses pushed by Cryptostorm when you connect (taken from my resolv.conf).

# Cryptostorm DNS Servers
# nameserver 198.100.146.51
# nameserver 76.74.205.228
# nameserver 213.73.91.35
# nameserver 91.191.136.152

User avatar

marzametal
Posts: 504
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 11:39 am

Re: DNS Settings

Postby marzametal » Thu Jul 10, 2014 5:16 am

As a bit of a backup, like... a "just in case"... enter two of the above DNS addresses in:
Phone - OpenVPN for Android (replace the two Google DNS entries)
Windows - Physical NIC (adapter settings)

User avatar

Topic Author
kelltech
Posts: 31
Joined: Mon Mar 24, 2014 11:49 pm

Re: DNS Settings

Postby kelltech » Sat Jul 12, 2014 12:58 am

Excellent, thank you guys :thumbup: :thumbup:

User avatar

Tealc
ForumHelper
Posts: 283
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 12:38 am

Re: DNS Settings

Postby Tealc » Sat Jul 12, 2014 1:39 am

I actually by default use in all my routers/modem/android devices the following:

192.121.170.170
176.10.127.43
188.165.25.65
37.187.0.40
88.82.108.30

ALL OpenNIC and community checked ;)
I loved OpenWrt :D

User avatar

marzametal
Posts: 504
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 11:39 am

Re: DNS Settings

Postby marzametal » Thu Jul 17, 2014 12:08 pm

I have noticed extra DNS servers showing up in the widget config screen. Most of them are not listed on this thread. I've asked support to check it out.


Return to “DeepDNS.net - cryptostorm's no-compromise DNS resolver framework”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

Login