Ξ welcome to cryptostorm's member forums ~ you don't have to be a cryptostorm member to post here Ξ
Ξ any OpenVPN configs found on the forum are likely outdated. For the latest, visit here or GitHub Ξ
Ξ If you're looking for tutorials/guides, check out the new https://cryptostorm.is/#section6 Ξ

Iceland = Switzerland = Canada ??

Looking for a bit more than customer support, and want to learn more about what cryptostorm is , what we've been announcing lately, and how the cryptostorm network makes the magic? This is a great place to start, so make yourself at home!
User avatar

Topic Author
privangle
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 5:57 am

Iceland = Switzerland = Canada ??

Postby privangle » Mon May 19, 2014 1:54 am

Hello,

When I establish a connection with one of the possible configuration-files, I always control if it really works: I call http://whatismyipaddress.com/ to verify.

Today I connect to Iceland, whatismyipadress indicates that the IP-number in the iceland.conf file is in Canada.

The geoiplookup command indicates ths same: Canada, but I shoud be in Iceland !

A whois query for the ip-number indicates an adress in Switzerland.

Normally, when I use the Iceland connection, whatismyipadress indicates me "Iceland backbone ..."

I don't understand. What happens ?

User avatar

Topic Author
privangle
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 5:57 am

Re: Iceland = Switzerland = Canada ??

Postby privangle » Mon May 19, 2014 3:02 am

Well, 2 hours later I tried https://dnsleaktest.com/ which is responding "Iceland".

whatismyipadress.com shows always Canada, geoiplookyp responds Iceland now.

Whois request shows always "Switzerland", but this is perpaps the adress of the owner of the exit-node and not the geographical place of the exit-node ?

Confusing for me. Sorry. :?

Does the ip-number of the iceland-exitnode sometimes change, or is there a sort of routing of exit-nodes from one IP number to another which changes from time to time ? Or do sites like whatismyipadress change sometimes their (whatever-)script ?

User avatar

Tealc
ForumHelper
Posts: 283
Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2014 12:38 am

Re: Iceland = Switzerland = Canada ??

Postby Tealc » Fri May 23, 2014 11:13 pm

One little thing, are you on one of the countries that whatsmyip.... says that the ip is from?

Because I've found that many people using a VPN, often forget to disallow some java scripts from the browser that can read, for example, your time zone, and even if you are connected via wifi, and if so, your provider....

Yeah that did happen to a friend of mine, that told me that this vpn wasn't very good since every time he connected to a local public wifi hotspot it keep giving in local country pub.

So if you use Chrome just use it in "Private Mode", and if that fails you really should check for dns leak and leakblock.

And I've found that http://www.tracemyip.org/ is a lot more accurate them some others.

User avatar

Topic Author
privangle
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 5:57 am

Re: Iceland = Switzerland = Canada ??

Postby privangle » Sat May 24, 2014 12:01 am

Thank you for the reply !

One little thing, are you on one of the countries that whatsmyip.... says that the ip is from?


The answer is "no", I'm neither in Canada nor in Iceland or Switzerland.

Interesting remark about Javascript. I just tried it out :

whatismyipadress.com indicates Canada, with and without Javascript.

dnsleakteset.com indicates Iceland, geoiplookup (which is a Linux program, not a browser) now indicates Iceland too,
so I think that the page whatismyipadress.com does not work correctly.

tracemyip.org also indicates Iceland (with & without JS), so I won't use the whatismyipadress anymore.

User avatar

Operandi
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 4:23 pm

Re: Iceland = Switzerland = Canada ??

Postby Operandi » Sun May 25, 2014 6:03 pm

@privangle

If you use Firefox, you may wish to change some settings through about:config (just in case). Those are:

geo.enabled (boolean) - set to false;
geo.wifi.uri (string) - change to about:blank (or just remove its value).

By the way, I have seen some weird results from http://whatismyipaddress.com/, as well.

User avatar

Topic Author
privangle
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 5:57 am

Re: Iceland = Switzerland = Canada ??

Postby privangle » Sun May 25, 2014 10:04 pm

Hi Operandi,

very smart advice, thank you ! I didn't know that variable.

Like network.SendRefererHeader 0 (instead of 2) which means that my Firefox doesn't tell the website
I visite which website I visited before. In my view, his information is confidential, but the default is 2.
(Some banking websites need this variable to be 2 for working. When you know that your are doing well surfing with 0.)

The geo.wifi.uri variable was filled with a googleapis.something..., I deleted it.
Will this variable stay empty or will it get filled again by surfing on the internet ?

User avatar

Operandi
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 4:23 pm

Re: Iceland = Switzerland = Canada ??

Postby Operandi » Mon May 26, 2014 2:03 am

privangle wrote:Hi Operandi,

very smart advice, thank you ! I didn't know that variable.

NP. Here's some more info on the matter:

Wondering how to de-Google-fy Firefox about:config
Disabling Geolocation « The Confidential Resource
How To Disable Or Fake Your Location In Firefox, Internet Explorer & Chrome

privangle wrote:The geo.wifi.uri variable was filled with a googleapis.something..., I deleted it.
Will this variable stay empty or will it get filled again by surfing on the internet ?

It should probably stay blank. But you also could try changing it to localhost, as one of the aforementioned resources suggests.

User avatar

marzametal
Posts: 517
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 11:39 am

Re: Iceland = Switzerland = Canada ??

Postby marzametal » Mon May 26, 2014 7:35 am

privangle wrote:Like network.SendRefererHeader 0 (instead of 2) which means that my Firefox doesn't tell the website
I visite which website I visited before. In my view, his information is confidential, but the default is 2.
(Some banking websites need this variable to be 2 for working. When you know that your are doing well surfing with 0.)

You're right about the banking sites needing referrer header info... I use a FF addon to take care of this, single mouse click swaps the status. It's much more user friendly, when taking into account how often it needs to be enabled/disabled in comparison to the other about:config options... Change Referer Addon

Operandi wrote:geo.wifi.uri (string) - change to about:blank (or just remove its value).
I had no clue about this one, many thanks!

User avatar

Operandi
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 4:23 pm

Re: Iceland = Switzerland = Canada ??

Postby Operandi » Tue May 27, 2014 11:43 am

marzametal wrote:
Operandi wrote:geo.wifi.uri (string) - change to about:blank (or just remove its value).
I had no clue about this one, many thanks!

No worries.

Hmm... Perhaps we should start a dedicated topic on how to de-NSA various web browsers, or something?

User avatar

Topic Author
privangle
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2013 5:57 am

Re: Iceland = Switzerland = Canada ??

Postby privangle » Tue May 27, 2014 10:32 pm

Hmm... Perhaps we should start a dedicated topic on how to de-NSA various web browsers, or something?

In my opinion a very good idea. I realized that only few people knows that one can change browser behavior by changing variables in "about:config".

We could collect, share and discuss these kind of informations and tricks.

Better known are browser extensions (add-ons, plugins) and I am shure that there are some de-NSA useful extensions not well known.

In which under-forum should we open this new topic ?

User avatar

Operandi
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Nov 22, 2013 4:23 pm

Re: Iceland = Switzerland = Canada ??

Postby Operandi » Wed May 28, 2014 12:59 am

privangle wrote:In which under-forum should we open this new topic ?

Probably either under connection guides & drill-down tutorials (that's where the majority of HOWTOs are posted), or online privacy & network security.

I just wish I had more free time as of late.

User avatar

jlg
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon May 05, 2014 2:44 am

Re: Iceland = Switzerland = Canada ??

Postby jlg » Tue Jul 29, 2014 8:55 am

I use http://ifconfig.me personally and prefer it....

User avatar

vpnDarknet
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 2:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Iceland = Switzerland = Canada ??

Postby vpnDarknet » Tue Jul 29, 2014 3:10 pm

Great link... but is this a flag to all sites visited?

Remote Host raw-onyx-1.cryptostorm.net
Buy your tokens via vpnDark.net and cryptostorm cannot and does not know anything about users - no link between a token & purchase details
Unofficial Wiki cryptostorm access guide
Ways to talk to me


Return to “cryptostorm in-depth: announcements, how it works, what it is”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests

cron

Login