Ξ welcome to cryptostorm's member forums ~ you don't have to be a cryptostorm member to post here Ξ
∞ take a peek at our legendary cryptostorm_is twitter feed if you're into that kind of thing ∞
Ξ we're rolling out voodoo network security across cryptostorm - big things happening, indeed! Ξ
Ξ any OpenVPN configs found on the forum are likely outdated. For the latest, visit GitHub Ξ

widget v3

Looking for a bit more than customer support, and want to learn more about what cryptostorm is , what we've been announcing lately, and how the cryptostorm network makes the magic? This is a great place to start, so make yourself at home!
User avatar

KungFuChe
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 10:47 am

Re: widget v3

Postby KungFuChe » Sun May 14, 2017 11:37 am

UPDATE: a cable fault was determined to be the cause of hang at splash screen (need to trap PHY errors)

Also noticed some state corruption related to suspend/resume. Observed the following issues:

- widget appears in tray but connection is not routed through VPN
- widget disappears from tray but VPN connnection still active
- widget crashes on exit request and clearnet connectivity is not restored (but can reconnect to VPN if widget is relaunched)

+ Suggest testing for OS/CPU compatibility

(example: dont install latest TAP driver on XP/POSready, dont install binaries with SSE2 instructions on unsupported CPU)

PS - forum says you can edit your posts but edit button does not appear at the next login

User avatar

rwilcher
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 7:46 pm
Contact:

Re: widget v3

Postby rwilcher » Mon Jun 05, 2017 12:17 am

I have been running v3 for 3 days now. Have seen no instability
under Windows 10. Works like a champ so far.

User avatar

Topic Author
df
Site Admin
Posts: 285
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 5:00 am

Re: widget v3

Postby df » Mon Jun 19, 2017 12:41 am

Just built a new widget v3.0.0.72 that includes code that now saves that connect timeout value (Under "Options" -> "Connecting") so it's remembered on restart.

Also OpenVPN/OpenSSL binaries/libraries upgraded to 2.3.16/1.0.2l.

Latest hashes for https://cryptostorm.is/cryptostorm_setup.exe -
crc32: 6fe993a6
md4: 2c09931daadb7ac8e88401422364c0ea
md5: 47a1d8d88fbe1c9b8655669af25f65a9
ripemd160: 0d233cd5f3c4842c772df06f2ebb4d42eccf93d0
sha1: b87c4cf014e70b8eabb462d2330388f9f87ce4a8
sha256: f9cabb029ea14a30feff44a33ed2ec8b73f9508d5840eb0bb495b7ab6bf4e083
sha384: ded51f638c8cef40a9a2ea268360d90ef213e6bf049a5aa5e427f027bc867ea2e65e767a332d9a564110b168903bab00
sha512: 3b6f4e4c14880f77dd980edcd9bbb414d83ed183a8dce91c9801858d6cedc53ceea1acb39bb567fa4f0b0e8ae3aded3f03858790d6efdd3805a7a9f687a828e0
wpool512: e407fe382d3f31d3189b0f237feb41a6541e7be1e5f1dfbfa75d6baedeae1ff815af2d32f2a3a8f6b5c16ddee18926443a5364e0d096150682bf9c1179aa4342


@KungFuChe
XP is no longer supported. Anyone still on XP will have to stay on the older v2.22, which won't receive any new updates, unless some horribly vulnerable issue is discovered in the openvpn/openssl that version uses.
It's usually a bad idea to provide backwards compatibility for an OS version that stopped receiving security updates several years ago.
I do plan on doing more tests regarding the different ways internet can be disconnected and how to detect it so the widget responds accordingly.
Same goes for the different CPU features and architectures, and the systray issues that seem to vary by Windows version.

User avatar

rwilcher
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 7:46 pm
Contact:

Re: widget v3

Postby rwilcher » Wed Jun 21, 2017 5:22 pm

What is the correct v3 widget I should get ? Confusing.

User avatar

Topic Author
df
Site Admin
Posts: 285
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 5:00 am

Re: widget v3

Postby df » Thu Jun 22, 2017 12:20 am

@rwilcher
The latest one is always at https://cryptostorm.is/cryptostorm_setup.exe

User avatar

rwilcher
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 7:46 pm
Contact:

Re: widget v3

Postby rwilcher » Sat Jun 24, 2017 5:30 am

Thank you very much.

User avatar

ATurtle
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jul 17, 2017 11:50 pm

Re: widget v3

Postby ATurtle » Mon Jul 17, 2017 11:55 pm

Glad to see that XP is finally being killed off by providers!
Image

User avatar

Topic Author
df
Site Admin
Posts: 285
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 5:00 am

Re: widget v3

Postby df » Tue Jul 18, 2017 12:45 am

@ATurtle
If anyone is still using XP, they clearly don't care about security.
You could argue that Microsoft updates doesn't equate to security (which is accurate), but since XP hasn't received security patches for several years now, using it under any pretense is just plain dumb.
Maybe in a system/VM that's offline, or behind such a restrictive firewall that nothing's possible... but then what's the point?

User avatar

JTD121
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2015 7:28 pm

Re: widget v3

Postby JTD121 » Sat Aug 12, 2017 4:36 pm

So just looking for an update, and it looks like I can't upgrade the client? Even running as admin on Windows 8.1 gives me the following error:

Image

Of course, watching that file, it gets created, and what looks like a temp file, and then this error pops up. So something is trying to change the client.exe before this happens.

Any ideas?
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
You derive personal satisfaction from the continued existence of the near perfect day-night cycles of the hyper cube.....

► Show Spoiler

User avatar

Topic Author
df
Site Admin
Posts: 285
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 5:00 am

Re: widget v3

Postby df » Sat Aug 12, 2017 5:37 pm

@JTD121
Do you get that error when running cryptostorm_setup.exe? If so, you should exit the widget before you begin the installation. Windows can't overwrite client.exe if it's already running. Although, the installation should detect if the widget is already running and ask if it's okay to close it before attempting to overwrite it.

User avatar

JTD121
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2015 7:28 pm

Re: widget v3

Postby JTD121 » Mon Aug 14, 2017 5:40 am

@df, Y'know, I don't know what the issue was, but I restarted this specific laptop and just tried again, and it worked without a hitch.

Previously I made sure the client.exe and csvpn EXEs weren't running, so maybe it was pending OS updates?

Since we're on the subject, any updates past 3.0.0.72?
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
You derive personal satisfaction from the continued existence of the near perfect day-night cycles of the hyper cube.....

► Show Spoiler


saenta
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2017 5:04 pm

Re: widget v3

Postby saenta » Tue Oct 10, 2017 12:18 pm

Hey, just joined cryptostorm last weak, I've a question, will there be a client based on opoenvpn 2.4?
Also how are plans going for an android client?
Thanks!
It's pretty awesome what a great service with many good Ideas you build!
Realy looking forward what you will create in the future!
Thanks!


LazyAss

Re: widget v3

Postby LazyAss » Fri Nov 03, 2017 9:58 pm

Is there an "undo" batch file or instructions anywhere?

It seems this version of the launcher can leave you with strange DNS settings after it's uninstalled, even if you deselect dnscrypt before uninstalling it.

Presumably it tweaks other settings as well that aren't properly reset to defaults.


DpFH

Re: widget v3

Postby DpFH » Mon Nov 06, 2017 3:51 pm

noticed this too but unsure of your present OS type...
This happens if you are also running another DNScrypt instance.

with simplednscrypt (windoze) you will just need to re-select your earlier dnscrypt enabled servers from the dropdown menu.
And to re-select the adapters for which dnscrypt has temporarily changed ie the TAP/tun adapters and LAN adapter

Then, if other nameserver values still remain ,
you only have to remove-and-reinstall the DNSCrypt service.

through a few mouse clicks (and there is no need to uninstall/reinstall the present dnscrypt software you are using).

If the service is up and listening on the correct ports

Primary nameserver ---------> 127.0.0.1 (port 53) and

sec. nameserver #2 -------------------> 127.0.0.2


the gui is easiest route if unsure about terminal based commands.

Those with only the dnscrypt-proxy service installed have to type the stuff via the console/terminal method. Or restart the service under "Services"

Next you could try :

/nslookup cryptostorm.is

to determine the current resolvers


Return to “cryptostorm in-depth: announcements, how it works, what it is”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 5 guests

Login