Ξ welcome to cryptostorm's member forums ~ you don't have to be a cryptostorm member to post here Ξ
Ξ any OpenVPN configs found on the forum are likely outdated. For the latest, visit here or GitHub Ξ
Ξ If you're looking for tutorials/guides, check out the new https://cryptostorm.is/#section6 Ξ

widget doesnt connect

Looking for assistance with a cryptostorm connection issue? Post here & we'll help out. Also: if you're not sure where to post, do so here & we'll move things around as needed. Also: for quickest support, email our oddly calm & easygoing support reps at support@cryptostorm.is :)

Topic Author
link8877
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 12:56 am

widget doesnt connect

Postby link8877 » Thu Dec 21, 2017 1:28 am

dear members,

I am using a windows laptop. I have been trying to make the widget work for a while now. But it doesnt connect. It did work in the beginning, until it didnt. It tells me that it "cannot resolve windows-frankfurt.cstorm.pw: Host is unknown
This usually means there is something wrong with your DNS Settings"

can someone tell me how to solve this.

thanks for your time.


JJ

Re: widget doesnt connect

Postby JJ » Sat Dec 23, 2017 4:37 pm

Dear members,

Since today I have the same problem, but with the dutch host. Same error. Who can resolve this problem??


gj

Re: widget doesnt connect

Postby gj » Sun Dec 24, 2017 3:46 am

Just updated to the new widget on windows 7 64, and now I'm experiencing the same issue. Anybody got a fix for this?

tia



carsol

Re: widget doesnt connect

Postby carsol » Sun Dec 24, 2017 2:36 pm

Hi,

since the new widget i have a simular problem, it get stuck during the 'loggin into the darknet'
Nothing is happening, downloaded and installed the new widget several times.
Do i miss something?


Topic Author
link8877
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 12:56 am

Re: widget doesnt connect

Postby link8877 » Sun Dec 24, 2017 4:10 pm

Thanks for replying.

However i've been having this problem for over a month now. Ever since there has been an update for my windows defender so i'm thinking it has something to do with that or with the Windows Firewall. I've tried turning it off and adding exceptions. I've also tried changing the DNS setting to the Google dns. Then I flushed the winsock and /flushdns.
I installed the new widget, even reinstalled windows. I have the problem with all the servers.

After your post I replaced the certificate from the old one to the one on the github. I still get the same error code (443, cant resolve... host unknown)

User avatar

parityboy
Site Admin
Posts: 1283
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 3:47 am

Re: widget doesnt connect

Postby parityboy » Sun Dec 24, 2017 8:46 pm

@link8877

That sounds like a client-side error, rather than server-side. Can you remove Windows Defender and see if it makes a difference?


JJ

Re: widget doesnt connect

Postby JJ » Mon Dec 25, 2017 1:04 am

Thanks for the replies. For me installing the latest widget solved the problem. Would be nice to know when certificates are no longer valid or when a new widget is available. Just a suggestion.


Topic Author
link8877
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 12:56 am

Re: widget doesnt connect

Postby link8877 » Wed Dec 27, 2017 1:01 am

I can't remove the defender because its integrated into the OS. i tried doing it with a tool but it didnt remove it completely. I downloaded ESET security and it seems to turn off the Windows Defender and Firewall completely. Unfortunately it still doesnt work. Anything else i can try?

thanks for the time

User avatar

parityboy
Site Admin
Posts: 1283
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 3:47 am

Re: widget doesnt connect

Postby parityboy » Sat Dec 30, 2017 4:12 am

@link8877

I've just installed the latest widget (3.12.0.127) into Windows 8.1, and it connected correctly first time. I realise Win8.1 isn't Win10...the only thing I can suggest is completely uninstalling the widget and downloading it clean from the CS website again.

In the meanwhile, I can look at creating a clean Windows 10 install and trying it there. :)


Topic Author
link8877
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 21, 2017 12:56 am

Re: widget doesnt connect

Postby link8877 » Mon Jan 01, 2018 9:57 pm

parityboy wrote:@link8877

I've just installed the latest widget (3.12.0.127) into Windows 8.1, and it connected correctly first time. I realise Win8.1 isn't Win10...the only thing I can suggest is completely uninstalling the widget and downloading it clean from the CS website again.

In the meanwhile, I can look at creating a clean Windows 10 install and trying it there. :)


I uninstalled the widget and removed all the keys. Are there any keys i could have missed that arent called "cryptostorm"?


Return to “member support & tech assistance”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 33 guests

cron

Login