Ξ welcome to cryptostorm's member forums ~ you don't have to be a cryptostorm member to post here Ξ
∞ take a peek at our legendary cryptostorm_is twitter feed if you're into that kind of thing ∞
Ξ we're rolling out voodoo network security across cryptostorm - big things happening, indeed! Ξ
Ξ any OpenVPN configs found on the forum are likely outdated. For the latest, visit GitHub Ξ

Firefox Reveals My System's Time; Need to Obfuscate

Looking for assistance with a cryptostorm connection issue? Post here & we'll help out. Also: if you're not sure where to post, do so here & we'll move things around as needed. Also: for quickest support, email our oddly calm & easygoing support reps at support@cryptostorm.is :)

Topic Author
aliwon
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2015 12:24 pm

Firefox Reveals My System's Time; Need to Obfuscate

Postby aliwon » Tue Mar 14, 2017 12:15 pm

Hi there !

Whoer is able to detect my real timezone while I'm using any CryptoStorm Node. Is there a way to either stop my system's time being displayed or change it to match the VPN Node's local time ?

Thanks.

Screenshot from 2017-03-14 14-57-31.png
TimeZone Mismatch

User avatar

parityboy
Site Admin
Posts: 1091
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 3:47 am

Re: Firefox Reveals My System's Time; Need to Obfuscate

Postby parityboy » Thu Mar 16, 2017 4:47 am

@OP

I just tested this - it's a Javascript issue, so a short term fix would be to simply disable Javascript.


Topic Author
aliwon
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2015 12:24 pm

Re: Firefox Reveals My System's Time; Need to Obfuscate

Postby aliwon » Thu Mar 16, 2017 10:22 am

parityboy wrote:@OP

I just tested this - it's a Javascript issue, so a short term fix would be to simply disable Javascript.


Thanks, but what about sites that do need JavaScript ?

Although I use both uBlock Origin and uMatrix for fine-grained control of scripts, I'm still unable to target the appropriate one.

I've tried Random Agent Spoofer, unfortunately their current version doesn't support timezone spoofing.

User avatar

parityboy
Site Admin
Posts: 1091
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 3:47 am

Re: Firefox Reveals My System's Time; Need to Obfuscate

Postby parityboy » Fri Mar 17, 2017 4:59 pm

@OP

It may be that the script in question is hosted on the site, or embedded in the page. It might be worth examining the page source to see if you can see it.

User avatar

marzametal
Posts: 500
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 11:39 am

Re: Firefox Reveals My System's Time; Need to Obfuscate

Postby marzametal » Sun Mar 26, 2017 6:04 am

Change your system time, it will do the trick. Just match it to the VPN exit node.

Then add another clock in the "Additional Clock" tab to reflect your real location time. So when you hover your mouse over the time/date section, it will pop up a box showing both local time and additional clock time.


Topic Author
aliwon
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2015 12:24 pm

Re: Firefox Reveals My System's Time; Need to Obfuscate

Postby aliwon » Tue Mar 28, 2017 4:07 pm

marzametal wrote:Change your system time, it will do the trick. Just match it to the VPN exit node.

Then add another clock in the "Additional Clock" tab to reflect your real location time. So when you hover your mouse over the time/date section, it will pop up a box showing both local time and additional clock time.


Changing the system's time obviously works, but very tedious. Firefox's sampling the system's time somewhere though. Need to figure this out guys.


Khariz
Posts: 160
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2016 7:48 am

Re: Firefox Reveals My System's Time; Need to Obfuscate

Postby Khariz » Wed Mar 29, 2017 8:00 am

according to this thread, you can't: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/threads ... is.292455/


Topic Author
aliwon
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2015 12:24 pm

Re: Firefox Reveals My System's Time; Need to Obfuscate

Postby aliwon » Wed Mar 29, 2017 10:35 am

marzametal wrote:Change your system time, it will do the trick. Just match it to the VPN exit node.

Then add another clock in the "Additional Clock" tab to reflect your real location time. So when you hover your mouse over the time/date section, it will pop up a box showing both local time and additional clock time.



Now I remember why I hadn't done this before. Changing the system is a VERY bad idea. If you create files on the system you're on, or backing-up files, or syncing etc. you need the correct time-stamps.

There's got to be a better way. This is in fact a big bug, but who's going to take responsibility for it ?

OpenVPN, Firefox, and the VPN service provider are all stakeholders here.


anothernoob

Re: Firefox Reveals My System's Time; Need to Obfuscate

Postby anothernoob » Wed Mar 29, 2017 12:25 pm

Kid, this is not a VPN issue.
This is a JAVASCRIPT thing. You connect trough SSL in most websites.

Would be WORST if the vpn made a javascript filter just for this.

If a VPN could access and change some javascript inside my HTTPS tunnel... That would worry me.
There is NO VPN IN THE WORLD that changes your system time, so don't ask them here like they were responsible.

If you need that kinda protection, you better use a VIRTUAL MACHINE IN NAT with vpn at HOST. Then put vpn time inside it.
That is the only way it won`t leak.

Even in TOR BROWSER you should NOT USE javascript. If you want, and need, you must change your system time.


Topic Author
aliwon
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2015 12:24 pm

Re: Firefox Reveals My System's Time; Need to Obfuscate

Postby aliwon » Wed Apr 05, 2017 8:30 am

anothernoob wrote:
There is NO VPN IN THE WORLD that changes your system time, so don't ask them here like they were responsible.


I'd agree with you, but then no one's asking for this. You're upset about imaginary requests.

anothernoob wrote:Kid, this is not a VPN issue.
If you need that kinda protection, you better use a VIRTUAL MACHINE IN NAT with vpn at HOST. Then put vpn time inside it.
That is the only way it won`t leak.

Even in TOR BROWSER you should NOT USE javascript. If you want, and need, you must change your system time.


Nope Kid :D , TorBrowser works fine out-of-the-box. Also, if you look through the posts above FF's Random Agent Spoofer addon could perform timezone spoofing until recently.

There's no need for a VM, that's just overkill.
Attachments
tor.png


Topic Author
aliwon
Posts: 12
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2015 12:24 pm

Re: Firefox Reveals My System's Time; Need to Obfuscate

Postby aliwon » Wed Apr 05, 2017 10:12 am

TorBrowser with uBlock turned off, my real location remains obfuscated. Sometimes TB completely conceals it, and at other times it fakes it. :thumbup:
Attachments
tor2.png
Case 1: TorBrowser completely conceals the timezone and localtime
tor1.png
Case 2: TorBrowser's Local Time corresponds to Exit Node's Local Time


Return to “member support & tech assistance”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 22 guests

Login