Ξ welcome to cryptostorm's member forums ~ you don't have to be a cryptostorm member to post here Ξ
∞ take a peek at our legendary cryptostorm_is twitter feed if you're into that kind of thing ∞
Ξ we're rolling out voodoo network security across cryptostorm - big things happening, indeed! Ξ
Ξ any OpenVPN configs found on the forum are likely outdated. For the latest, visit GitHub Ξ

Exclude programs or websites from VPN connection?

Looking for assistance with a cryptostorm connection issue? Post here & we'll help out. Also: if you're not sure where to post, do so here & we'll move things around as needed. Also: for quickest support, email our oddly calm & easygoing support reps at support@cryptostorm.is :)

Topic Author
DudeOfLondon
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 5:14 pm

Exclude programs or websites from VPN connection?

Postby DudeOfLondon » Mon Sep 28, 2015 8:20 pm

Hi, is it possible to exclude programs or websites from using the VPN connection?

I ask this because I want to play Tera. I am used to have my CS connection enabled all the time. But if I try to log in my Tera account on their website I get banned for 24 hrs.
They say, VPN/Proxy etc. isn't allowed according to their ToS.

But I don't agree that I have to shut down my VPN while playing Tera and other services in Windows or my mail client etc. access the web without VPN while I play Tera.

So here is the question again, can I somehow exclude the Tera client from using the VPN? Or can I exclude the Tera webpage from using the VPN connection?

User avatar

parityboy
Site Admin
Posts: 1092
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 3:47 am

Re: Exclude programs or websites from VPN connection?

Postby parityboy » Sat Oct 03, 2015 4:51 pm

@OP

The answer is: yes you can.

I've done something similar on Linux for WoW - you have to use the route command to alter the routing table, so that traffic to the IPs of the Tera website and/or the Tera server that you play on are routed over your normal connection.

The first order of business is obviously to find out the IPs of the servers in question using the Nslookup command.

Code: Select all

Nslookup en.tera.gameforge.com

which yields 194.187.16.230. To add it as a static route - assuming your router's LAN address is 192.168.0.1, do this:

Code: Select all

route add [b]194.187.16.230[/b] mask 255.255.255.255 [b]192.168.0.1[/b]

To find the address of the game servers themselves is a little more involved. Check the game's config file, and use NSlookup against what you find in there. If that's not enough, you may have to use Wireshark to see what the game is sending out, and to where.


Topic Author
DudeOfLondon
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 5:14 pm

Re: Exclude programs or websites from VPN connection?

Postby DudeOfLondon » Mon Oct 05, 2015 3:36 am

I tried it with Vindictus.
I added 4 IPs, that I found out with UrlSnooper2.
Now the login windows shows the form fields, when connected to the VPN, which it didn't before.
But after waiting some time, I get an auth error and the game doesn't start yet.

Ok I didn't exclude the hackshield IP yet.

But I have a problem there.

I still must exclude patch.nexoneu.com and hackshield.nexoneu.com
But doing a nslookup either in CMD.exe or with online tools reveals that the full domain is patch.nexoneu.com.edgesuite.net and patch.nexoneu.com.edgesuite.net

And those reveal different IPs every time. How should I proceed?

User avatar

parityboy
Site Admin
Posts: 1092
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 3:47 am

Re: Exclude programs or websites from VPN connection?

Postby parityboy » Tue Oct 06, 2015 5:13 am

@OP

Using the dig command on Linux:

Code: Select all

;; ANSWER SECTION:
hackshield.nexoneu.com. 594     IN      CNAME   hackshield.nexoneu.com.edgesuite.net.
hackshield.nexoneu.com.edgesuite.net. 21594 IN CNAME a1585.d.akamai.net.
a1585.d.akamai.net.     14      IN      A       104.86.111.153
a1585.d.akamai.net.     14      IN      A       104.86.111.144


Code: Select all

;; ANSWER SECTION:
patch.nexoneu.com.      600     IN      CNAME   patch.nexoneu.com.edgesuite.net.
patch.nexoneu.com.edgesuite.net. 21600 IN CNAME a1830.d.akamai.net.
a1830.d.akamai.net.     20      IN      A       104.86.111.170
a1830.d.akamai.net.     20      IN      A       104.86.110.225


That should be enough for you to alter your routing table accordingly. :)


Topic Author
DudeOfLondon
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 5:14 pm

Re: Exclude programs or websites from VPN connection?

Postby DudeOfLondon » Tue Oct 06, 2015 2:43 pm

Thx for your help thus far.

I added those but got a new problem. I can't even get the form fields for login in the launcher now.

When I start the launcher I get these URLs recorded. I already added the two amazonaws IPs to the routing. (54.231.192.46, 54.231.192.48).
But it still doesn't show the login in form fields in the launcher. Are those pki google and symcb also needed to add as route? What do you think?

Code: Select all

http://www.google-analytics.com/collect?v=1&tid=UA-74898-39&cid=360300B8-E8CB-4D0E-B815-1BD2143D2456&t=pageview&ds=passport_client&dh=nexoneu.com&pd=/updater/process-init
http://www.google-analytics.com
http://www.google-analytics.com/collect?v=1&tid=UA-74898-39&cid=360300B8-E8CB-4D0E-B815-1BD2143D2456&t=pageview&ds=passport_client&dh=nexoneu.com&pd=/updater/process-init-success
http://www.google-analytics.com/collect?v=1&tid=UA-74898-39&cid=360300B8-E8CB-4D0E-B815-1BD2143D2456&t=event&ds=passport_client&ec=updater&ea=process-init-success
http://www.google-analytics.com/collect?v=1&tid=UA-74898-39&cid=360300B8-E8CB-4D0E-B815-1BD2143D2456&t=event&ds=passport_client&ec=updater&ea=process-init
http://nxeu.s3.eu-central-1.amazonaws.com/passport/patchdata/passport.manifest.hash
http://www.googletagmanager.com0h
http://pki.google.com/GIAG2.crt0+
http://clients1.google.com/ocsp0
http://pki.google.com/GIAG2.crl0
http://g.symcd.com0
http://g.symcb.com/crls/gtglobal.crl0
http://crl.geotrust.com/crls/secureca.crl0N
https://www.geotrust.com/resources/repository0
http://nxeu.s3.amazonaws.com/passportlauncher/VindictusLauncher.zip


Topic Author
DudeOfLondon
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 5:14 pm

Re: Exclude programs or websites from VPN connection?

Postby DudeOfLondon » Tue Oct 06, 2015 2:47 pm

Oh no!! I did a "route print" and saw, that the routes that I added yesterday aren't there any more, that may be the reason why it still doesn't work.

Why does it "forget" the added routes (after rebooting the PC I guess)?

Edit: Ok found something.

To make a static route persistent, you can either enter route add commands in a batch file that is run during system startup or use the -p option when adding routes.

Routes added by using the -p option are stored in the registry under the following key:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Tcpip \Parameters\PersistentRoutes


From here: https://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/librar ... 10%29.aspx


harrison1991
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 2:57 pm

Re: Exclude programs or websites from VPN connection?

Postby harrison1991 » Tue Oct 06, 2015 3:05 pm

Hey I am new user here. Just opened my account. I would like to know about vpn comparison review provider. Do you know where I can find out that sites?


Topic Author
DudeOfLondon
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 5:14 pm

Re: Exclude programs or websites from VPN connection?

Postby DudeOfLondon » Tue Oct 06, 2015 3:26 pm

parityboy wrote:@OP

Using the dig command on Linux:

Code: Select all

;; ANSWER SECTION:
hackshield.nexoneu.com. 594     IN      CNAME   hackshield.nexoneu.com.edgesuite.net.
hackshield.nexoneu.com.edgesuite.net. 21594 IN CNAME a1585.d.akamai.net.
a1585.d.akamai.net.     14      IN      A       104.86.111.153
a1585.d.akamai.net.     14      IN      A       104.86.111.144


Code: Select all

;; ANSWER SECTION:
patch.nexoneu.com.      600     IN      CNAME   patch.nexoneu.com.edgesuite.net.
patch.nexoneu.com.edgesuite.net. 21600 IN CNAME a1830.d.akamai.net.
a1830.d.akamai.net.     20      IN      A       104.86.111.170
a1830.d.akamai.net.     20      IN      A       104.86.110.225


That should be enough for you to alter your routing table accordingly. :)


That's weird. I installed dig euqivalent for windows called BIND.
And then used the dig command on patch.nexoneu.com but I got different IPs.

Code: Select all

;; ANSWER SECTION:
patch.nexoneu.com.      600     IN      CNAME   patch.nexoneu.com.edgesuite.net.
patch.nexoneu.com.edgesuite.net. 21600 IN CNAME a1830.d.akamai.net.
a1830.d.akamai.net.     20      IN      A       92.123.225.33
a1830.d.akamai.net.     20      IN      A       92.123.225.75


Those are the same, that I get with nslookup.

Why do they differ from your results?

And using the domaintools website I get even more different IPs for it:

Code: Select all

;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 40696
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 4, AUTHORITY: 8, ADDITIONAL: 9

;; OPT PSEUDOSECTION:
;; QUESTION SECTION:
;patch.nexoneu.com. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
patch.nexoneu.com. 600 IN CNAME patch.nexoneu.com.edgesuite.net.
patch.nexoneu.com.edgesuite.net. 21600 IN CNAME a1830.d.akamai.net.
a1830.d.akamai.net. 20 IN A 23.3.105.26
a1830.d.akamai.net. 20 IN A 23.3.105.9


So now we have 104.86.111.170, 104.86.110.225 vs. 92.123.225.33, 92.123.225.75 vs. 23.3.105.26, 23.3.105.9.

I am quite confused which is the corect IP and why 3 different searches return different IPs for the same DNS query.
Last edited by DudeOfLondon on Tue Oct 06, 2015 4:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar

parityboy
Site Admin
Posts: 1092
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 3:47 am

Re: Exclude programs or websites from VPN connection?

Postby parityboy » Tue Oct 06, 2015 3:47 pm

@OP

It's the result of them using a CDN - which is precisely what Akamai are - edgesuite.net is one of their domain names. Traffic is routed according to what is nearest to it, so the CDN nodes which are nearest to each of us are obviously different.


Topic Author
DudeOfLondon
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 5:14 pm

Re: Exclude programs or websites from VPN connection?

Postby DudeOfLondon » Tue Oct 06, 2015 6:45 pm

I've already added a lot of IPs (all got with using dig command from my computer).
The corresponding URLs are:
patch.nexoneu.com
hackshield.nexuneu.com
download.nexoneu.com
cache.nexoneu.com
passport.nexoneu.com

as well as

nxeu.s3.eu-central-1.amazonaws.com
nxeu.s3.amazonaws.com

But now I get an auth error after correctly login in. (see attachment)

This is the log while login in:

Code: Select all

http://nxeu.s3.eu-central-1.amazonaws.com/passport/patchdata/passport/d2/d2bbb974765d2e705e3db685c15605a76962e229
http://nxeu.s3.eu-central-1.amazonaws.com/passport/patchdata/passport/db/dbba33da0bd658bf1087ec615675f909c7c84c97
http://nxeu.s3.eu-central-1.amazonaws.com/passport/patchdata/passport/fc/fc066f615165dde882fe9e8f84db24e8dddaa58a
http://nxeu.s3.eu-central-1.amazonaws.com/passport/patchdata/passport/82/82dfefce6f65f64d4cee77032b4aa828dea164ee
http://nxeu.s3.eu-central-1.amazonaws.com/passport/patchdata/passport/ec/ec9f75921f05ca18d60057eb75db6ff156fc5d49
http://nxeu.s3.eu-central-1.amazonaws.com/passport/patchdata/passport/18/1864642f13f29aa182b76c7838942951f705b6e9
www.google-analytics.com
www.googletagmanager.com0h
http://pki.google.com/GIAG2.crt0+
http://clients1.google.com/ocsp0
http://pki.google.com/GIAG2.crl0
http://g.symcd.com0
http://g.symcb.com/crls/gtglobal.crl0
http://crl.geotrust.com/crls/secureca.crl0N
https://www.geotrust.com/resources/repository0
http://www.google-analytics.com/collect?v=1&tid=UA-74898-39&cid=5CB91947-F22D-4937-A265-C299E14698BB&t=event&ds=passport_client&ec=updater&ea=process-closed
http://nxeu.s3.amazonaws.com/passportlauncher/VindictusLauncher.zip
http://www.google-analytics.com/collect?v=1&tid=UA-74898-39&cid=360300B8-E8CB-4D0E-B815-1BD2143D2456&t=pageview&ds=passport_client&dh=nexoneu.com&pd=/updater/process-init
http://www.google-analytics.com/collect?v=1&tid=UA-74898-39&cid=360300B8-E8CB-4D0E-B815-1BD2143D2456&t=event&ds=passport_client&ec=updater&ea=process-init
http://www.google-analytics.com/collect?v=1&tid=UA-74898-39&cid=360300B8-E8CB-4D0E-B815-1BD2143D2456&t=pageview&ds=passport_client&dh=nexoneu.com&pd=/updater/process-init-success
http://www.google-analytics.com/collect?v=1&tid=UA-74898-39&cid=360300B8-E8CB-4D0E-B815-1BD2143D2456&t=event&ds=passport_client&ec=updater&ea=process-init-success
http://nxeu.s3.eu-central-1.amazonaws.com/passport/patchdata/passport.manifest.hash
http://www.google-analytics.com/collect?v=1&tid=UA-74898-39&cid=360300B8-E8CB-4D0E-B815-1BD2143D2456&t=pageview&ds=passport_client&dh=nexoneu.com&pd=/updater/process-closed


Do I maybe need to add routes for pki.google.com, clients1.google.com and those symcd.com, geotrust.com as well?

And what about that google-analytics urls?


I can't imagine, why I only get that Auth error while using the VPN?
Are there routes missing still or does the hackshield detect the VPN app?
Attachments
vindictus auth.jpg

User avatar

parityboy
Site Admin
Posts: 1092
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 3:47 am

Re: Exclude programs or websites from VPN connection?

Postby parityboy » Wed Oct 07, 2015 10:52 pm

@DudeOfLondon

The fact that it's using those additional URIs tells me you'll need to add those IPs to the routing table as well. I'd guess that it will need all of them apart from the Google Analytics one, but add it anyway, get it working, then try removing it and see what happens. :)


harrison1991
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 2:57 pm

Re: Exclude programs or websites from VPN connection?

Postby harrison1991 » Thu Oct 08, 2015 8:17 pm

Hey don't anyone here who can recommend me good vpn comparison site?


harrison1991
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 2:57 pm

Re: Exclude programs or websites from VPN connection?

Postby harrison1991 » Fri Oct 09, 2015 1:15 pm

I searched 2 days through the internet. Though I found lot's of sites about vpn comparison. But the following one has caught my attention. I personally visited their website and reviews as well. Here is that one http://www.vpncomparison.org/provider/expressvpn/


Overall I am satisfied with the above site. LOL!

User avatar

rwilcher
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 7:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Exclude programs or websites from VPN connection?

Postby rwilcher » Fri May 26, 2017 11:52 pm

Hello mavens.I had a slightly different problem. When using cstorm, I could not access devices on my local
network. As I do everything via WiFi, was painful. My perhaps sub optimal solution was setting dual ip addresses
on my wifi adapter. The article I referenced to do this is here
http://tunecomp.net/windows-10-multiple-ip-addresses/
Just adding my local address to my default wifi adapter did the trick for me. Just thought I would mention
it as it simplified my life. Of coarse you mileage may vary.
Works under Windows 10 . I am pretty sure that if this a bonehead solution,I will be chastised by the local
Gurus. [8\.

User avatar

parityboy
Site Admin
Posts: 1092
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 3:47 am

Re: Exclude programs or websites from VPN connection?

Postby parityboy » Mon May 29, 2017 4:40 am

@rwilcher

Check your routing table. You should have a route for the local LAN, typically 192.168.1.0.

User avatar

rwilcher
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 7:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Exclude programs or websites from VPN connection?

Postby rwilcher » Thu Jun 08, 2017 11:20 pm

I have no wired interfaces on this box. All are WPA2 n.

User avatar

rwilcher
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Apr 26, 2015 7:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Exclude programs or websites from VPN connection?

Postby rwilcher » Thu Jun 08, 2017 11:28 pm

I have no wired interfaces on this box. All are WPA2 n.


Topic Author
DudeOfLondon
Posts: 109
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2015 5:14 pm

Re: Exclude programs or websites from VPN connection?

Postby DudeOfLondon » Fri Jun 09, 2017 12:41 am

LAN includes wired and wireless.
Someone with more knowledge than me in that area, should point rwilcher how to check for a correct routing table.



MickelC

Re: Exclude programs or websites from VPN connection?

Postby MickelC » Wed Jun 14, 2017 11:06 am

Almost all the vpns are providing the same service, which is excluding programs for vpn connection its called split tunneling. I am using a ivacy vpn and guess what i bought t in a summer sale.

 ! Message from: parityboy
Edited to remove link.


Return to “member support & tech assistance”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests

Login