Ξ welcome to cryptostorm's member forums ~ you don't have to be a cryptostorm member to post here Ξ
Ξ any OpenVPN configs found on the forum are likely outdated. For the latest, visit here or GitHub Ξ
Ξ If you're looking for tutorials/guides, check out the new https://cryptostorm.is/#section6 Ξ

Need help from tech support.

Looking for assistance with a cryptostorm connection issue? Post here & we'll help out. Also: if you're not sure where to post, do so here & we'll move things around as needed. Also: for quickest support, email our oddly calm & easygoing support reps at support@cryptostorm.is :)
User avatar

Topic Author
hulltech
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 11:45 pm

Need help from tech support.

Postby hulltech » Sat Sep 06, 2014 2:46 am

Hello, I have been trying to contact support by chat, email, Twitter, and phone to ask a few questions about the tomato setup. It has a part where the author says he puts a text file holding his password and username in a certain directory. I wanted to find out how they did it and what commands they used. I switched routers so I have a Asus RT-AC68W wireless router. Asus started using a form of tomato usb firmware a few years ago. They have changed the firmware to meet their needs and it is not the standard tomato firmware anymore. It has Openvpn server and client built in now. They actually have a working model you can go in and check what it has online.
I wanted to know how hard would it be to combine the exit nodes in one config for Linux. It would work on my router and I could change servers by just changing the server address. I could use all of them. Isn't Android a form of Linux too, if so, I could use the same thing on my phone and tablet. I am not trying to be a pain in the backside but I wanted to see if tech support would help me. I even bought 4months of tokens to do this if possible. Any help is greatly appreciated.
Hulltech

User avatar

Topic Author
hulltech
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 11:45 pm

Re: Need help from tech support.

Postby hulltech » Sat Sep 06, 2014 5:13 am

Anyone?

User avatar

cryptostorm_support
ForumHelper
Posts: 296
Joined: Sat Jan 26, 2013 4:31 am
Contact:

Re: Need help from tech support.

Postby cryptostorm_support » Sat Sep 06, 2014 9:02 am

I'm not sure I understand exactly what you want to do here. If I understand you correctly, you want to add a number of exit nodes to one config file, but I'm not sure how you intend to select which you want.

You could have a randomly selected exit node using something like

Code: Select all

remote-random
# randomizes selection of connection profile from list below, for redundancy against...
# DNS blacklisting-based session blocking attacks
 
 
# frankfurt cluster
<connection>
remote raw-cantus-2.cryptostorm.net 443 udp
</connection>
 
# montreal cluster
<connection>
remote raw-maple.cryptostorm.net 443 udp
</connection>
 
<connection>
remote raw-maple.cryptostorm.org 443 udp
</connection>
 
<connection>
remote raw-maple.cstorm.pw 443 udp
</connection>


where you can define what exit nodes are possible results but that's the extent of your control over what exit node gets selected
cryptostorm_support shared support team forum account
PLEASE DON'T SEND PRIVATE MESSAGES with support questions!
--> feel free to use any of our other contact channels, or post in the support forum
cryptostorm: structurally anonymous, token-based, unlimited ☂ bandwidth, opensource, darknet data security for everyone!
keybase.io validatorsonename.io validatorsPGP key @ MITnetwork statuscryptostorm github
support team bitmessage address: BM-2cTMH8K5JnjbfSALjZtSkRWCLfc3Tr8GBV
support team email: support@cryptostorm.is
live chat support: #cryptostorm

User avatar

Topic Author
hulltech
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 11:45 pm

Re: Need help from tech support.

Postby hulltech » Mon Sep 08, 2014 3:06 am

What I was going to do was have a single config that I could just use one of the exit nodes I wanted to use whenever I want to change from another server. It would be like the widget except you would have to put in the server manually to change to the server you wanted. Everything else would remain the same except that you had the opportunity to switch to any server of your choice like the widget, but for Linux, and wouldn't it work in dd-wrt routers too. I don't know if it will work on android but isn't android a Linux distribution.

User avatar

parityboy
Site Admin
Posts: 1281
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2014 3:47 am

Re: Need help from tech support.

Postby parityboy » Mon Sep 08, 2014 4:18 am

@hulltech

Connection widgets (even those on Linux distributions like Ubuntu and Mint) typically have a plugin which takes the OpenVPN parameters from the widget and passes them to a fork()ed OpenVPN process. Things are a little different on Android; the Linux part of Android is the kernel and its support mechanisms, so OpenVPN is implemented differently on that platform, from what I can tell.

With specific regard to your issue, even the NetworkManager widget on Mint will only show one IP address when you load a config into it with multiple nodes. I suspect therefore, that you will have to create separate configs for each exit node.

User avatar

vpnDarknet
Posts: 128
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2014 2:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Need help from tech support.

Postby vpnDarknet » Mon Sep 08, 2014 11:22 pm

I use aliases set in .htaccess to opernvpn .config setups, linked to a singl login credential file.

Could you set aliases up on your router, choosing them by ssh'ing onto the device?

You would only require a single token then
Buy your tokens via vpnDark.net and cryptostorm cannot and does not know anything about users - no link between a token & purchase details
Unofficial Wiki cryptostorm access guide
Ways to talk to me

User avatar

Topic Author
hulltech
Posts: 28
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 11:45 pm

Re: Need help from tech support.

Postby hulltech » Wed Sep 10, 2014 5:36 am

i am not sure. I have not tried to ssh into my router. I think I managed to solve my password issue and change the path to the USB flash drive itself. change auth-user-pass /jffs/password.txt to auth-user-pass /sda1/password.txt. on a USB flash drive. i do not have it shared out so security should not be an issue. so it sounds like i just need to load a new config from each server when i want to change servers from chili, emerald, Montreal, Iceland, Germany,France, etc.. is that correct. I only have two server settings on the GUI. or do I load them all and just change the server address? I really need to learn more about the way this vpn command structure works.I did not realize what a total noob I am until I got into safety and security with vpn. I figured it would be like a dos like command structure or a single executable like PIA has.but I wanted the best security, sorry I am a PIA. LOL
is there individual config .ovpn files for each server in Linux like android?

User avatar

marzametal
Posts: 520
Joined: Mon Aug 05, 2013 11:39 am

Re: Need help from tech support.

Postby marzametal » Wed Feb 18, 2015 1:18 pm

This is the most suitable thread topic, so I posted here...

Recently I have seen stuff popping up after CONNECTED is displayed in the windows widget. It doesn't happen automatically, but give it 30-40 minutes, I see this...

Code: Select all

Connected
Wed Feb 18 18:51:31 2015 us=717959 FRAG TTL expired i=17
Wed Feb 18 18:52:11 2015 us=110529 FRAG TTL expired i=7
Wed Feb 18 18:59:26 2015 us=931325 VERIFY OK: depth=1, C=CA, ST=QC, L=Montreal, O=Katana Holdings Limite /  cryptostorm_darknet, OU=Tech Ops, CN=cryptostorm_is, emailAddress=certadmin@cryptostorm.is
Wed Feb 18 18:59:26 2015 us=931325 VERIFY OK: nsCertType=SERVER
Wed Feb 18 18:59:26 2015 us=931325 VERIFY OK: depth=0, C=CA, ST=QC, L=Montreal, O=Katana Holdings Limite /  cryptostorm_darknet, OU=Tech Ops, CN=server, emailAddress=certadmin@cryptostorm.is
Wed Feb 18 18:59:28 2015 us=433828 NOTE: --mute triggered...


Return to “member support & tech assistance”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 35 guests

Login